

PRESIDENT Tomris OZBEN

Akdeniz University - Medical Faculty Department of Clinical Biochemistry 07070 Antalya - Türkiye

PAST-PRESIDENT Khosrow ADELI

Pediatric Laboratory Medicine The Hospital for Sick Children University of Toronto Ontario M5G 1X8 - Canada

SECRETARY Sergio BERNARDINI

University Tor Vergata 00174 Rome - Italy

TREASURER Alexander HALIASSOS

ESEAP - Greek Proficiency Testing Scheme for Clinical Laboratories GSCC-CB GR-106 76 Athens - Greece

CORPORATE REPRESENTATIVE Tricia RAVALICO

Director, Scientific Leadership and Education Medical and Scientific Affairs Core Diagnostics Abbott IL 60064 - USA

IFCC REGIONAL FEDERATION REPRESENTATIVES

African Federation of Clinical Chemistry (AFCC) Rajiv ERASMUS

Dept of Chemical Pathology Tygerberg, 7505 - South Africa

Arab Federation of Clinical Biology (AFCB) Osama NAJJAR

President of Palestinian Medical Technology Association (PMTA) Deputy Assistant of Allied Health Professions and Blood Banks, Ministry of Health (MOH) - Palestine

Asia-Pacific Federation for Clinical Biochemistry and Laboratory Medicine (APFCB) Tony BADRICK

Chief Executive

The Royal College of Pathologists of Australia St Leonards NSW - Australia

European Federation of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (EFLM) Mario PLEBANI

Dept of Laboratory Medicine University Hospital Padova – Italy

Latin-American Confederation of Clinical Biochemistry (COLABIOCLI) Eduardo FREGGIARO

Fundación Bioquímica Argentina - President Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires C1053ABW - Argentina

North American Federation of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (NAFCC) David GRENACHE

Chief Scientific Officer TriCore Reference Laboratories Clinical Professor of Pathology University of New Mexico Albuquerque, NM 87102 - USA

IFCC Office

Via Carlo Farini, 81 20159 Milano – Italy Tel: +39 02 66809912 Email: ifcc@ifcc.org website: http://www.ifcc.org/ From: Prof. Khosrow Adeli – Chair, IFCC Awards Committee

Date: 22 October 2024

Ref: Call for Nominations for IFCC Distinguished Awards 2025

TO: Presidents and National Representatives of IFCC Member Societies

As you are aware, the IFCC confers several Distinguished Awards to scientists and clinicians who work in clinical chemistry and laboratory medicine or related disciplines. These Awards are the highest honours that our Federation can bestow to colleagues worldwide in recognition of their outstanding achievements, to publicize their exceptional research and other contributions that have improved medical and healthcare, and to stimulate and encourage other scientists to accelerate their efforts in advancing clinical chemistry and laboratory medicine.

On behalf of IFCC and its Awards Committee, I am pleased to call for nominations for the following IFCC Distinguished Awards for presentation at the IFCC EuroMedLab Congress in May 2025, Brussels (Belgium):

- IFCC-Henry Wishinsky Award for Distinguished International Service (since 1990 - IFCC Distinguished International Services Award (1981-1987).
- 2. IFCC Award for Distinguished Contributions in Education.
- 3. IFCC-Robert Shaffer Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Development of Standards for Use in Laboratory Medicine.
- 4. IFCC Distinguished Award for Contributions to the Cardiovascular Diagnostics.
- 5. IFCC Young Investigator Award.

The following IFCC Distinguished Awards will be presented in October 2026 in New Delhi (India) and a different call for nominations will be issued in due time:

- 1. IFCC Howard Morris Distinguished Clinical Chemist Award (since 2020) IFCC Distinguished Clinical Chemist Award (1967- 2017).
- 2. IFCC Award for Significant Contributions in Molecular Diagnostics.
- 3. IFCC Distinguished Award for Laboratory Medicine and Patient Care.
- 4. IFCC-Gérard Siest Award Young Scientist Award for Distinguished Contributions in Pharmacogenetics.
- 5. IFCC Distinguished Woman Scientist Award for Contribution to In Vitro Diagnostics.

Nominations are welcome from the President or National Representative of the nominees' national society, which should be a member of the IFCC. Each nomination should contain (1) a statement as to the reasons for nomination, (2) a full CV of the nominees including a bibliography, and (3) other letters of support (optional). They should be sent to Silvia Colli-Lanzi at the IFCC Office, (colli-lanzi@ifcc.org).

Each country/society can only nominate candidates for a maximum of 2 awards. This rule allows a better distribution of awards to scientists from various regions around the world.

For the 2025 Awards, the closing date for receipt of nominations is 31st December 2024.

Please do not hesitate to write to Silvia Colli Lanzi or me if you have any queries.

Yours sincerely,

Prof. Khosrow Adeli

Chair, IFCC Awards Committee